Be Yourself

Recently I have seen and heard a lot about how you need to do what’s right for you. The fact that this is surrounding my trip to Gallaudet just makes me feel better about my decision.

I do have moments when I’m worried about finding a job after I graduate, especially considering all the loans I’ll be adding to get this education. But then I think of all the people who went after the things they wanted despite the debts that came along with it and how they don’t regret making the decision. I don’t want to be someone who looks back and goes “If I had only gone for it” with regret.

I know it’s not going to be easy. The students this weekend were saying how they eat, breathe, sleep, live linguistics. They don’t do much else. I’ve told my hubby this, and he says he understands, but I’m still worried.

They also talked about how wonderful it is living in the dorms because you are on campus 24/7 and your fellow classmates are right there and can help when you’re stuck at 2am. Unfortunately there are a limited number of apartments in the dorms for married students. I really wish they could add more or maybe just build a dorm for married students. There’s a wait-list for the apartments, so there’s obviously a demand for them. I always enjoyed the ease of living on campus. You don’t have to pay bills monthly, there’s dining on-campus so no cooking, and you’re surrounded by fellow students.

But I’m not going to let any of this discourage me. I’m going to apply. I’m going to get on that wait-list and pray we get in. This is what I want. I’m not going to stop until I get it.

Leave a Reply

