Happy Holidays! (part 3)

Because Christmas was on a Wednesday this year, we got to stay home and celebrate all by ourselves. It’s kinda nice to be able to simply sit back and enjoy the holiday. No worrying about traffic. No worrying about when we have to be where. No worrying about forgetting presents at our place. Just sitting back in our pjs and watching Christmas specials and movies all day long.

But for me, Christmas starts on Christmas Eve. Both of us had to work, which really just helped our cause of staying home for Christmas. Once I got home from work I got what food I could ready for munching the next day. Who wants to cook on Christmas day? That night I finally got to do something I had been looking forward to for a few years now: playing at Midnight Mass!

I know I’ve mentioned this before, but I play the trumpet. I’ve been playing since the 5th grade and I don’t want to try to figure out how many years that has been. I am really lucky that I get to play every Sunday at Mass. For a few years we were able to go up to be with family over Christmas because it fell on a Friday-Monday. Last year I was not in the mood for a traditional Christmas Mass, so I sang at the Blue Christmas Mass on Christmas Eve. But this year…hehehe…this year was ready!

Well, as ready as I could be. We played some carols before Mass, which I played for half of them. I played for the last two and then we went right into Mass. I am still amazed that my lip lasted through the whole thing. It was really trying to die on me a couple of times. But it was totally worth it.

When I got home, I was given the option to open a present if I wanted to. Considering my sister had me open my present from them on Sunday when I saw them briefly, I felt I had opened my early present and suggested he could open his from them. Yeah, my sister is getting good at finding presents. They got him a “flight deck”, as he’s calling it. It’s 4 small glasses and a wooden tray for them to create a flight of beers to taste. He’s really happy.

After that I went to bed. It was 1:30am. It was late enough.

The next morning we slept in. It’s so nice to sleep in on a Wednesday. I got up and finished the cooking and got everything out in the living room for easy snacking. Once he got up, we sat by the tree and opened what remained of our presents. The rest of the day was spent munching and watching holiday movies snuggled up on the couch. A wonderful way to spend Christmas.

Leave a Reply

