2013: a year of changes

Wow. This year was full of changes. I started off the year looking forward to my second semester and all that it entailed. I don’t know how I lived through that semester, let alone only fail one class. But failing that one class made me take a step back and look at things in a different way. Maybe I’m not cut out to be an interpreter. I still feel that way, which is why finishing the interpreter program is simply a back-up in case I don’t get in grad school.

Which brings up the next change. Going to grad school took a left turn this year. At the beginning of the year I was thinking about applying to Gallaudet in addition to Ohio State for Speech-Language Pathology. Now I’m working on only applying to Gallaudet for Linguistics. But it’s been because of the support of friends, family, and teachers that I’ve had the confidence to do all of that. I’ve learned to listen to my gut and go with what feels right. It’s serving me well in other aspects of life as well.

By going to my ASL teacher’s office hours, and being there for my classmates, I had the best classroom experience ever and came out of it with more confidence than I’ve ever felt before. I really feel that I am going down the right path for me right now in applying to Gallaudet and going into Linguistics and focusing on sign languages.

Outside of school a lot happened as well. Much of it personal, but most of it came from following my instincts to do what’s right for me. I feel quite prepared for 2014 mentally and spiritually. This evening I think I’m going to get physically ready by cleaning up. I am going to take a nice long shower to wash away all the dirt from the year and be clean and ready for the new year. I am also going to clean up my room to remove all the clutter and be better prepared for the new year.

Happy New Year everyone!

Leave a Reply

