What’s Up #1

Okay. I admit it. I’m copying what Sayward posted yesterday on Bonzai Aphrodite. But I really liked the idea, and I think I’m going to make it a weekly thing. Of course with my own Polymind twist. So here we go!

Book Lover

Ender's Game by Orson Scott CardRight now I’m about 60% through Ender’s Game on my Kindle. It is really hard to put this book down! But I think part of that is because I’ve seen the movie, so I have an idea of where things are going.

But the book has so much more to it, it’s amazing. They did a great job adapting it to the movie. They made the cuts carefully and didn’t affect the main storyline. But, there’s a reason I have a t-shirt that says “The book was better.” Thankfully this time it’s not a drastic difference between the two, which makes it that much more enjoyable to read the book.

Green

So my HIP is still going well. I admit it’s been a little harder this week, but that’s part of why I’m doing this. I’m trying to break myself of old habits and get new, improved ones set up in their place. I’m still managing to eat many smaller meals instead of three big ones. But my self-imposed sugar ban is getting hard to stick to. I’ve slipped a few times, but it’s always been less than I would have had before. Every day I have the intention of going without sugar. That really helps me to keep it in check.

Luckily going to the gym is a habit I want to keep strengthening. I love how I feel when I leave the gym. I love how I feel overall because I’m going. It is definitely improving how I feel physically and mentally. It’s really nice to know that I don’t have to worry so much about my back or that I’m going to be walking up and down the court half the time tomorrow playing basketball.

Enough with the Healthy Living side of things, I’ve got some awesomeness for the Green Living side of things. A month or so ago I decided to give a new shampoo a try. I am so glad I did. Yes to Carrots is the only shampoo that gets my hair as clean as if I was using baking soda and apple cider vinegar. I wish I had listened to my friend earlier and bought this years ago.

Student

I still haven’t heard back from Gallaudet, which is really frustrating. I want to know where I’m going to be taking classes this summer. I want to know what I’ll be doing this next year of my life. Grrr!

Polymind

I figure I’ll focus on something different every week to keep things interesting.
Music
Recently my iPod has been my best friend. After our little road trip to DC in February (I can’t believe it’s been more than a month!), I’ve been working on getting better playlists set up. Listening to one album or another is great. But every album has those few songs that make you perk up and take notice. So I’ve been compiling a favorites playlist and loving every minute of it. I’ve got a wide variety that ranges from Queen and the Rolling Stones to Jewel to Frenchy and the Punk to Andrea Bocelli to Seanan McGuire. That playlist has been keeping me going mentally when I need it the most.

So hopefully I’ll be doing this every Friday or Saturday. I think it’s going to help me to be more aware of what I’m doing every week and maybe it’ll keep me from getting into any ruts. Hopefully it’ll inspire you to do the same!

Leave a Reply

