Answers and Almonds

I now know why I was so unmotivated to do anything last week and had a constant bad mood going. I was sick! I’m guessing it was something simple because I had a one, maybe 1.5, degree fever Saturday night. I curled up on the couch with water, blankets, and the Doctor Who 50th Anniversary Special. I hydrated and rested and slept and woke up feeling much, much better.

It’s kind of funny that it’s become instinct for me now. I find out I have a fever, I immediately grab blankets and water and hunker down on the couch. That’s what my mom always had us do if we had a fever. Granted she usually gave us ibuprofen or Tylenol to help, but I like just using heat and water to make it go away. Both yesterday and today I’ve been much more focused and motivated to get things done. Thank goodness!

As today marks the beginning of a new week, I’ve decided to try another combination of foods for my meals and snacks. For breakfast I’m going with that cereal that’s mostly oats and it’s shaped in little Os. You know what I mean. 😉 Right now I’m finishing off my box of them from Whole Foods, but tonight we’re going grocery shopping and I’m hoping to find an organic brand at the grocery store.
My lunch is one of the amazing grilled chicken breasts from Whole Foods and a pack of Uncle Ben’s Jasmine Ready Rice. I love Ready Rice and I’ve fallen for jasmine rice. It tastes and smells so wonderful.
Afternoon snack is my caprese salad. Instead of slices of everything, I use grape or cherry tomatoes, chop up balls of mozzarella, dice up fresh basil, and add some balsamic vinaigrette. So good!
The other afternoon snack is completely new: soaked raw almonds! I’ve been munching on unsalted, roasted almonds, but it turns out that soaked raw almonds are even better for you. By leaving them raw, there’s still those wonderful omega-3s in addition to the fiber and other goodies inside. Then, by soaking them overnight, they release more enzymes from the skin and it becomes easier to digest. It also makes them easier to eat. I’m really looking forward to munching on these naked beauties before going to the gym tonight. Here is a great article about soaking almonds. The author discusses how and why you should soak your nuts!

And I can’t forget my tea! I try to have at least two mugs of green tea every day. But I’ve also recently gotten back into drinking my Pu-erh as well. They really help me get through the day.

Leave a Reply

