One small step for me…

One giant leap for my life!

Today I handed in my letter of resignation at work. Wow, that still feels weird to think about. It’s the first time I’ve ever left a job in this way. I like it.

Anyway, my last day here will be the Friday before Memorial Day. Why this change in careers at this point? Well, I’m looking at things like this: I didn’t get into grad school, so I’m going to focus on my Associate’s instead. That means having a job with a more flexible schedule that will allow me to take day classes.

For the past two years I’ve only taken night classes, with a couple online classes sprinkled in there. But now I’m getting to the point where I’m going to start repeating instructors. By taking day classes, I’ll get to work with more people, and I’ll have different teachers. Which means new experiences and opinions. It may be frustrating at times, but it will be good for me to see how other people do certain tasks.

Possibly the best thing out of all of this? All of my classes are on Mondays and Wednesdays! Class just twice a week! Granted it starts at 8am with Intermediate Interpreting, but I’m already used to being at work at 8am. Also, as an interpreter, I may have assignments that require me to be ready to go that early.

Despite all of that, I still feel like this is the right thing for me right now. I have faith that I’ll have at least one job by then, and the experience will be very beneficial.

Leave a Reply

