Surprise, Surprise, Surprise

When I first fell in love with the idea of going raw, I knew it wasn’t going to last. It’s how I work. I get uber excited about something, especially when it comes to food, and it isn’t something that I can manage to sustain.

But that doesn’t mean I’m going back to my old ways.

Honestly, the problem is that I just can’t afford to go out and buy all the ingredients I want to make the awesome recipes. I’ve been sticking to simple dips, dressings, and fruit smoothies. It’s hard to have real meals with just dips and smoothies. If I wanted something more, I’d got and get a veggie from Jimmy John’s.

Today I did a little grocery shopping at Whole Foods and had Jimmy John’s on my mind. So I picked up half a loaf of pumpernickel bread and a few veggies from the salad bar to complement the assortment I already have at home. I looked at meat to possibly add to my sandwich and it just didn’t appeal to me. That was such a good feeling! It would seem that I have become a part-time vegetarian.

It’s kind of interesting. I know I eat enough meat for dinner every night that I’m good for the rest of the day. I think if I actually make myself some loaded sandwiches for lunch, I can snack my way through the rest of the day with veggies and chips and dips and smoothies.

It’s going to be interesting while I get this figured out.

Leave a Reply

