What I learned from DragonCon 2014: Cameras

When you go to a convention, you typically have something on you to take pictures of the amazing costumes and the wonderful panels you go to. Well, last year I took my new DSLR, my camcorder, and my monopod. I barely used my DSLR outside of the Doctor Who photoshoot. The camcorder and monopod were great for panels. My videos have better shots than what I could see. But it was hard keeping the monopod still.

This year I took my DSLR, camcorder, and my compact tripod from school. Bad idea. The DSLR lived in the room. I just used my phone at the photoshoot. I tried to get the tripod out for the Colin Baker panel and discovered it wouldn’t have gone over the heads of the people in front of me.

For next year I’m changing things up. I’m going back to the monopod because the videos turned out fairly good and stable, and it’s so much easier to set up and take down. I’m also looking at a new point and shoot camera. It would be my convention camera. It’s a Canon PowerShot SX280. It falls into the category of compact point and shoot. That means it has a lot of the features of a DSLR without the size. Which means it’ll be great for me for DragonCon.

There’s something else I’d like to bring, but it depends on if we’ll have a vehicle in the parade next year. If we do, I’m bringing my good tripod to use at the photoshoot. It would be nice to have a way to keep my camera stable and above people’s heads. Also, if I get it set up right, I just need one person to snap a few pictures when I’m in them. 🙂

Leave a Reply

