Falling or flying?

I’ve always found inspiration from three different strong women: Sayward Rebhal, Seanan McGuire, and Kelly Carlin. Sayward’s blog is such an inspiration and I feel like things make more sense after reading what she’s posted. There are a few of Seanan’s songs that really hit me and inspire me. And listening to Kelly and her friends talk about things always opens up my mind.

Kelly’s essay, “Finding Voice”, is what gave me the courage to quit my job back in May so I could use my voice. Sayward is always an inspiration for following my dreams and passion. Her post from Saturday really struck a chord with me.

To say that these are crazy days would be an understatement. These days are crazy, not just for me and mine, but – at least it seems – for all the sensitive souls of the world.

I can totally agree with that. It makes me feel better knowing I’m not the only one having a crazy time lately. But this is what really got me thinking:

And then there’s Jeremy. Earlier this week, Jeremy quit his job. He quit the job he’s held for the past 8 years, which was stable and secure and paid him well. He quit the job that gave him insider access and endless opportunities for connection in his industry. The job that taught him so much. The job that he hated, and that was slowly destroying him, both physically and emotionally. He did it. He quit. He jumped right off the edge of the cliff; he jumped for his dream. And I took his hand and jumped with him. Because falling is so, so, so fucking scary.

But flying feels so good.

Talking about falling and flying really struck me. I’ve been finding inspiration from song lyrics that involve flight lately.

On the day I found my wings
I spread them wide and flew away,

Now I’m flying high, but flying on my own. (I’m flying on my own.)

On the day I found my wings
I said ‘that’s it, I’m out the door;
~”Sycamore Tree”, Stars Fall Home by Seanan McGuire

And pretty much all of “Defying Gravity” from Wicked.

I guess the point of all this is to say that I am so grateful for these amazing women. Lately I felt more like I’ve been falling, out of control, unsure of what to do or where to go. Now I feel like I’m starting to take control and am starting to work toward flying instead of falling. It’s going to take some work, but whoever said things worth working for were easy to get? (Does that make sense to everyone else? It worked well in my head.)

One thought on “Falling or flying?

  1. Thank you so much for the kind words, and I’m so happy to hear that my words resonate with you. Seems like flight is all around . . .

    Love the Wicked reference as well (musical theatre for LIFE!), I’m going to see it in Hollywood on my birthday this coming January. First time! =D

Leave a Reply

