Caution: Craziness Ahead

Last week was a great way to end the year. It’s helping me to focus on the next year, which really needs focus.

I mentioned back in October that I had received a letter of acceptance from Gallaudet University with a condition. And I quote:

As a condition for your admission, you must earn a grade of B or better in all courses by the end of the semester.

That motivated me to do better in my classes this past semester. A bump in the road at the end kinda derailed that. So I e-mailed the person at Gallaudet to let them know this. I was informed that I had misread the letter and the condition applied to fall semester at Gallaudet.

I will be attending Gallaudet University in the fall as a Graduate Special Student.

I am going to be going to Gallaudet!

Part of me still can’t believe it. When I stop to think about it, a huge smile appears on my face and my mood lightens. Even worrying about how I’m going to pay for it doesn’t diminish my mood. But this does mean that a lot is going to change next year.

I’ll be moving to DC, away from my hubby. I’ll have a whole new campus to get to know, new people to meet, new teachers to learn from. And of course, finally getting to use ASL to communicate all the time! I just need to make sure to focus and keep my grades up. My continued attendance and hopeful acceptance into Linguistics depends on it.

I am so excited!

Leave a Reply

