Finished! Chicks Dig Time Lords

Have I mentioned I have an awesome father-in-law?

Image from Goodreads

This year one of my Christmas presents was the book Chicks Dig Time Lords: A Celebration of Doctor Who by the Women Who Love It. I had put it on my Amazon wishlist once I found out about it a few years ago. It’s not a huge book, so I thought it would be a good choice to bring with me to Ohayocon to read during down time between panels. Boy, was I right.

This book is a collection of essays written by women Who-vians. Jody Lyn Nye, Seanan McGuire, and Carole E. Barrowman are just a few of them. I decided to pick through and read what caught my attention instead of just reading it straight through. Why not? It was a good approach. Strike that. It was a great approach!

Reading about how all these women got into Doctor Who and the fandom was really inspiring. Some got into it watching it on PBS. Some started with the Ninth Doctor. Some were there at the beginning in Britain. Some talk about different aspects of the fandom. All of them talk about how it became a part of their lives, in one way or another. All of them made me glad to be a part of the fandom.

Right now I’m reading through it, again. This time with my notebook and pen nearby to write down thoughts and passages as I go. I wished I had that the first time, but there’s only so much you want to carry around at a convention.

If you’re into Doctor Who, this book is a great read. I highly recommend it!

Leave a Reply

