I can breathe again

Today I got an e-mail from the Department of Popular Culture at Bowling Green State University. I applied for admission to their master’s program starting this fall last month. At the end of May their site said they were still accepting applications, and with support of friends and family I applied. I figured if I didn’t get in, I could quickly reapply for next year.

Turns out I won’t have to. I GOT IN!!!!!

Starting in a little over a month, I will finally be starting graduate school! Almost ten years after graduating with my bachelor’s degree I am finally continuing with my education. And it’s going to be in popular culture. This is the last field I thought I would be going into. I didn’t even know it existed until the end of May. But my mom and I were talking and she said she had a couple of thoughts for potential programs for me to apply for instead of Linguistics. One was Library Science. I flat out told her I could not be a librarian. I love to read, but I’m not a librarian.

Then she told me about Popular Culture. I’ll let the Department of Popular Culture explain it better than I could. But as she was describing it, two things kept running through my head. First, “I’d be a professional geek!” Personally, that is what it means for me. Being able to be a geek and get paid for it. Which leads to the second, “I’m already doing this!” I took a few classes at Ohio State that would have been in Popular Culture at Bowling Green.

My whole theory that superheroes and supervillains are disabled and that the mutant community is the Deaf community of the comic book world started in a Disability Studies class. Currently my blog Deviate from the Norm is my way of continuing to pick away at that theory and expand on it. Needless to say, that blog is going to be seeing a lot more posts soon.

During the past two months of applying and waiting, I’ve realized how much I can do with this degree. I just hope I can stay focused and coherent while I’m there. Bouncing around from idea to idea isn’t the best thing for graduate school. But ultimately my goal is to go on and get a master’s in Deaf Culture from Gallaudet (I haven’t given up on going there, just put it off a little) and go on to teach at Ohio State. Between my two degrees, there is going to be so much that I can get done. More importantly, my ultimate goal of helping to strengthen and add to that bridge of understanding between Deaf and hearing can still be achieved. Which makes me so happy!

But more importantly, after two months of applying and waiting, I can finally breathe again! I know what I’ll be doing for the next two years. I don’t have to wait anymore. And, even better, I’ll be in graduate school!

3 thoughts on “I can breathe again

Leave a Reply

