Still reeling

This has been a troubling week. It seems like there have been more people killed than usual. Maybe that’s what’s going on. Maybe it’s because we’re paying more attention now.

I have been struggling with how to write about this. My personal feelings and opinions about the mess that the world is in right now; there’s been a lot to deal with this week.

The scene in the black archive from the Doctor Who episode “The Zygon Inversion” keeps coming back into my mind. When I first watched it, it didn’t hit me that nearly all of the Doctor’s dialogue is applicable to what’s going on right now. I’ll post a great transcript of the entire scene after this.

When I first heard about what happened in Paris, I was shocked. I changed my Facebook icon to support Parisians. I posted and re-posted support for those who were victims of extremists, all of them. There are human beings in the world who are victims of extremists every day, without being victims of violence. I am of the camp that the more truth, knowledge and understanding is out there, the less power extremists have over people.

Sadly there are people in the world who disagree with me. People who feel that all Muslims should be treated the same despite a small fraction of them being a part of the extremist groups. People who disagree with me to such a degree that they feel the need to make sure I clearly know that.

I am in no way comparing myself to those who have to deal with extremists on a day-to-day basis. Those who are living in war zones because people around them feel the need to use guns and bombs instead of words to make their feelings known. But words can hurt just as much as bombs when they’re used by the right people.

The victims of extremists exist all over the world. They are being hurt and killed every day. But because so many of them live in war zones, we don’t hear about it. Even then, it comes and goes so quickly that most people don’t know it happened. Everyone was talking about Paris, but no one was talking about Beirut. The world’s eyes were glued on Paris for days, but when over a hundred people died in Kenya, we barely knew it happened.

Americans have put on blinders of ignorance and wrapped themselves in a blanket of lies. We need to be aware of what is going on in the world. If we are supposed to be a world power, leading the way toward peace, we need to be aware of everything that is happening. Knowledge is not only power, but freedom. Freedom from opinions and half-truths. Knowledge will help us create peace by talking through our problems instead of fighting them out. Didn’t we learn that in kindergarten?

To borrow from a friend regarding assholes: “To paraphrase Patton Oswalt, “we outnumber you and we always will “.”

Leave a Reply

