Made at home: Fruit in Gel

For a while now, the hubby and I have been buying cups of fruit in gel. But the options are kind of limited. I love the mandarin oranges in orange gel. Sometimes I’ll get the pineapple in lime gel. But other than that, there’s really no fruit/gel combination that I like.

Then a few weeks ago I got new storage for my tea, which left me with a bunch of small Mason jars. A few days later I realized that the jars are about the same size as the cups. Which meant I could get whatever Jell-O and whatever fruit and make my own cups.

I finally did that tonight!

What you need (what I used in parenthesis):
Mason Jars (6 4oz and 3 8oz) with lids and bands
Jell-O flavor of your choice (pineapple, 2 small packs)
Can of fruit (20 oz pineapple tidbits)

Evenly divide your fruit among the jars. I aimed for about 2/3 of the way full on the small jars and just divided the rest among the larger ones.

Make your Jell-O according to the directions on the package. Since I was making 2 packages, I used the juice and then added enough cold water to equal 2 cups to add after the hot water.

Pour your Jell-O over your fruit. Add as little as you like, but remember you have to be able to put the lid on. I had an additional 8oz of Jell-O left and poured it into another jar.

Put on the lids. Screw on the bands. Put them in the fridge. That’s it! As they cool off, the lids will seal themselves.

It’s a great way to have a sweet treat without the excess packaging! That was really one of my biggest problems with buying them, aside from the lack of options. I was tired of having to throw out the plastic sealing it in and washing the cups out to recycle. Now I just have to throw the jars into the dishwasher and they’re clean! And I can make whatever combination works for me! Yay!

Leave a Reply

