I Feel Good!

HAPPINESS IS...quiet time

I am an introvert. I get drained by too much interaction. I need somewhere that I can fully relax and be myself so I can recharge my energy. This past school year I was living in an apartment with three other lovely ladies. I had my own space. I could shut the door. But I was never able to fully recharge.

But all that has changed.

This week I moved into my new apartment. My apartment. It’s all mine. I’m the only one there. I have space! I have an area for working/studying. I have an area for relaxing and watching TV. I have an area for sleeping. I have a kitchen all to myself! It has been a wonderful week. I didn’t realize how drained I was until this week. I knew I wasn’t getting a full recharge, but not anymore!

Since I moved in on Tuesday, I’ve cooked multiple meals from ingredients in the fridge (I went to BW3s a few times). I’ve listened to music loud-ish and sung along loudly without any reservation. I’ve not had to worry about running out of hot water or if someone else is also showering. I can soak in the tub (which I plan on doing next week)!

I hadn’t realized how much better I felt until I was heading home to the hubby today. I set my iPod to shuffle my Favorites playlist and had a blast driving those two hours. I got home and felt really good. Usually I have to recover from the drive. This time I’m recharged; I can just enjoy being home.

Hopefully all of this will lead to a productive weekend home before I head back up on Sunday to get ready for the week. This coming week is Graduate School Orientation, which means the new cohort arrives and we all mingle and get to know each other. It also means one last week before classes begin. Ack!

I just have to remind myself:
That which does not kill me only makes me weirder and harder to relate to.

Leave a Reply

