Company

Everyone has their own way of dealing with overwhelming emotions. Some people can’t stand to be alone at all. If you’re one of those people, go out. Find friends to be with. Don’t be alone! Some people get anxiety over the thought of being social right now. Don’t force yourself to go out. Be alone if you need to. But don’t shut out everyone.

I’m the latter. When the Sit In for Love was announced, my anxiety went through the roof at the thought of going to it. Don’t get me wrong, I am so relieved that it was such a success and that it was there for the people who needed it. I knew it was not for me. I was still processing everything. It was outside. Bowling Green is also affectionately known as “Blowing Green”. The place is flat and open; it’s quite windy. I know the situations I can clearly hear things in, outside in the wind is not one of them. Also, aside from my social anxiety issues, I can be empathetic at some of the worst times. If emotions are running high, they overwhelm me. I knew I could not handle all the anxiety and worry that would be present.

So I headed home. I blasted music the whole way and felt better. I got home and spent the evening with my hubby. I am so glad I can be just with him right now. He’s the right amount of people for me right now. By the time Sunday comes around, I’ll be good to go to church and be more social. But right now, with a few exceptions for errands, I’m going to stick with staying at home.

Do what you need to do to take care of yourself. That’s the most important thing right now. Take care of yourself!

Leave a Reply

