Do something!

Just before the school year started, aka late August, I ran across a new concept: the Bullet Journal. This is the blog post I read that explained everything. Go. Read it now, then come back.

*patiently waits*

Back? Good. This thing has made a positive difference in my life. I took The Lazy Genius Collective’s advice and keep it simple. I grabbed a small blank notebook I already had and started in. It’s so wonderful to not only have a place to write down my to-do lists, but to create things done lists and keep track of all the little things I used to spread out among many journals.

Currently I am using the black notebook on the left, but it is almost full. As in I have 5 blank pages left. So I bought the journal on the right at Half-Price Books. I’m looking forward to filling it up with to-do lists, things done lists, packing lists, tea log, book quotes and ratings, monthly calendars, journal entries, and all sorts of other things.

But, to my point. I was feeling down and stressed and unproductive. Then, yesterday, I stopped to think about how much I had gotten done that day. Just writing it all down made me feel so much better. It inspired me to go tackle the dishes I had been letting pile up. I didn’t give in and go get fast food, I actually  made myself a sandwich. Then, when I was about to figure out how much I still had to get done and what time I had to do it in, I realized it was only 6:30p! I still had plenty of time to work.

It’s amazing how keeping track of what you’ve gotten done can do for your motivation. I know it sounds weird, but it works for me. Try it, it might work for you, too! Seriously, read How to Bullet Journal. Bullet journaling is so useful because its format is so free, you can make it what you need it to be! It can even be an act of self-care.

Leave a Reply

