Still processing

So, The Hamilton Mixtape was finally released on Friday. I’ve listened to it a few times. But I’m still processing it as a whole. It is a mixtape. The songs have been put in a specific order for a good reason. I’m trying to figure out for myself why they are in that order. There’s an article out there that’s about the songs and the album and I’m avoiding it like the plague. I want to try to and figure out the structure on my own before I go reading why Lin put it together the way he did.

Part of why it’s taking me a while is…well there are a few reasons. One of which is the fact that I’m taking a class, have a thesis to work on, and am teaching a class. Or to put it simply, I’m a graduate TA who has no life. The other is because it took me a few times to remember something important: it’s a mixtape! I was listening to each song individually instead of as a whole. It’s probably partly due to the fact that we only had a few tracks to listen to for a while, so I wasn’t thinking of them as one long story. But that is what they are. They are an amazing, beautiful, moving, and awesome story. Now if I can just figure out what that story is…

Leave a Reply

