A Look Back at 2016

As much as people say this was a horrible year, there were plenty of positive things that happened. Both personally and culturally.

I was introduced to and have learned to appreciate coffee. I never thought I would like it, but, like beer, you need to be introduced to the right stuff by the right person.

I fell in love with Hamilton. It gave me my topic for a seminar paper. It’s given me a, hopeful, dissertation subject. It’s given me so much joy and inspiration.

Also, it won a record number of Tony Awards as well as bringing a whole new audience to Broadway.

I presented part of my thesis at the Popular Culture Association/American Culture Association National Conference in Seattle. Heck, I went to Seattle!

I had a blast at Marcon. My hubby joined me. And we got to meet Seanan McGuire!!!

I managed to get two different summer jobs that look good on my CV.

I got to watch a filibuster in the Senate!

The Cleveland Cavaliers won the NBA Championship!!!

I had so much fun at DragonCon with my hubby and our friends. And I presented another part of my thesis at the Comics and Popular Arts Conference, held at DragonCon.

I started using a Bullet Journal. It’s still awesome!

I got more in touch with my inner Dudeist.

I learned to take time to take care of myself.

The Hamilton Mixtape. Need I say more?

My hubby and I celebrated our 7th wedding anniversary!

I finally joined The Grand Tour. I really missed those guys. Seriously, if you liked Top Gear, watch it!!!

The Eagles were among the honorees at the Kennedy Center this year!

And of course, DeadpoolCaptain America: Civil War, Star Trek: Beyond, Doctor StrangeMoana, Batman: The Killing Joke, Season 2 of DaredevilLuke CageSpeechlessFeedback, and so much more was released into the world for us to enjoy!

I made so many different blends of teas. Some of which, mostly my Steven Universe set, is being enjoyed by others, too!

Finally, my hubby has continued to be supportive as I come home on the weekends from graduate school.

Lets try to focus on the positive instead of the negative. It’s easier to remember the negative, but we need to focus on the positive.

Happy New Year! Let’s make it another good one!

Leave a Reply

