16 Years, 1 Year

It’s been almost 16 years since I’ve been in NYC. Almost 16 years since I’ve seen a show on Broadway. That ends now.

I’m at BroadwayCon!

Tonight, I’m going to be in the room!

But before I get my geek on. A little history. Growing up, I didn’t really listen to cast albums. I knew of Broadway. But I knew about it because it was in the culture. Because my Mom loved old musical movies, many of which were adapataions of Broadway shows. it wasn’t until the 8th grade that Broadway became something real. My high school included the 8th grade in all levels of band. Including the trip they took every other year. For the previous few years, they had gone up to Toronto to see The Phantom of the Opera. My parents felt that 8th grade was too young to go on a trip like that, and I can’t blame them. Also, it was expensive and they wanted to be able to afford to help me go my sophomore and senior years, and then do the same for my sister. I appreciate that still.

My freshman year is when things really changed for me. That year in concert band, our director, of our little Catholic School music program, got a medly of songs from this amazing new musical Rent. She even got the cast album out from the library to play the songs for us so we knew how things should sound.

I was in love. I was probably the reason that disc set stayed at the library for so long. I would get it out and renew it and listen to it over and over and over again. It was the first time I wanted to see a Broadway show, badly. But I knew there was no way it was going to happen any time soon. There was no way we were going to see it on our trip. There was no way I could convince my parents to take me. But I was willing to wait.

The next fall, it was announced that our band trip that spring would be to somewhere they hadn’t gone before: NYC. We would be seeing the sights as well as two, not one but two, Broadway shows! We would be seeing Smokey Joe’s Cafe and Les Miserables. I knew just enough to understand how amazing it was going to be to see Les Mis. I started getting that cast album out regularly as well. Every time I listened to it, it made me look forward to seeing it even more.

Both shows were amazing. They made me even more excited for my senior year when we would be coming back. Our director decided it was silly not to just keep going to NYC. There was plenty to see and plenty of musicals to see. Why change that? My senior year was even better. We got to see Stomp and Annie Get Your Gun! We were doing Annie Get Your Gun as our HS musical, and most of the cast and crew was in band as well, so we were extremely excited. Being those freshman who were first exposed to Rent, we tried over and over again to convince her to let us go see it. Those of us who were under 18 already had our parents chaperoning. But, as much as she really wanted to let us, she knew there would be backlash over letting us go, so she didn’t. Luckily, we did drive past the street the theater is on, so we took a bunch of pictures as we went by. Which was costly at the time, because these were the days before digital cameras and smart phones.

So, thanks to my HS band director and my parents for covering the cost that I couldn’t after fundraising, I was introduced to the amazing world of Broadway. But around exactly a year ago, my love of Broadway was reignited. My friend introduced me to Hamilton.

You can look up on here about how much I have fallen for this show. So much that I’m planning on writing my dissertation about it and the fans that have sprung up around it, including myself. It’s part of why I’m here at BroadwayCon. I’m here to get a feel for the convention so I can come back next year and do real reseach.

Yesterday, on the drive over…yes I drove 11 hours; it’s much cheaper than flying. On the drive over, I decided that if I can find a ticket for around $500, I should go ahead and buy it and go. I’m already in the city. I’d be throwing away my shot if I didn’t at least look. Well, there was a ticket for tonight’s 8p show. I bought it. I still can’t believe I’m typing that. I’m going to see Hamilton! Sadly, unless there’s a miracle, I’m not going to be seeing Javi. He’s still out at least until tomorrow. I don’t want him to make any injury worse, but it would have been cool to see him. But I still get to see this amazing show! Finally!

So, for everyone who will be seeing me for the near future, I’m sorry. I’m going to be talking about this for months! Eeeeee!

Leave a Reply

