Finished! To Kill a Mockingbird

To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee
To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee

To Kill a Mockingbird is the Pulitzer Prize-winning book written by Harper Lee. Actually, it’s the only book by Harper Lee. It is told from the point of view of Jean Louise “Scout” Finch, who is six at the beginning of the book. It takes place over three years during the Depression in Maycomb, Alabama.

Over the years, Scout starts school and learns how she should behave while there, even if it means keeping some things from her teachers, like how well she can read. One thing that does not change over the years is her, her brother Jem, and their friend Dill’s desire to see their shut-in neighbor, Arthur “Boo” Radley. They learn to walk in others’ shoes to see why they do what they do, when they can think to do it before their mouth takes over. 😉

There is one thing that runs through most of the book. For part of it, it is not that prominent and simply runs in the background. But then it comes to the front of everyone’s attention. The trial of Tom Robinson. Atticus, Scout and Jem’s father, has been assigned to defend Tom Robinson, a black man accused of raping a white woman. Atticus has raised his children to look past skin color and see who the person really is. It is hard for them to understand why things end up the way that they do. It is hard for them to understand why people are upset that Atticus truly defends his client. But they learn a few very important lessons from all of it.

This is my favorite book. Reading it this time, I think I may have realized why. I can relate to Scout. She doesn’t see why she has to act like a lady. She doesn’t care what other people think of how she acts or what she wears. She doesn’t care about your skin color as long as you’re a good person. Those are all qualities I see in myself. I only wish that I was as confident as Scout at that age. 🙂

I wish Harper Lee had been able to finish one more book. Her writing is so amazing, but I can understand why. She didn’t want to publish something that couldn’t live up to To Kill a Mockingbird. But if she were to ever publish another work, I would read it in a heartbeat.

Rating:
5 stars

Summer Book Challenge: Read an author who at the time of the challenge has only released one book.

2 thoughts on “Finished! To Kill a Mockingbird

  1. I got a really nice trade sized copy of TKAM at our recent library sale. I need to read it again. Did you read it again bc it’s the 50th anniversary of its publication this month?

    1. Actually, no. I read it because I finished Mockingbird: A Portrait of Harper Lee earlier this month. It really got me in the mood to read it again. It is a really great coincidence though. 🙂

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.